Weekend Update, 7

In wanting to continue my trend of recording my life in greater detail to support my poor memory, here’s another record of my past weekend. We had a three day weekend thanks to President’s Day, and I think I managed to squeeze in plenty of activity into those 3 days.

Friday

Friday was quite exciting, as it was Chinese New Year’s! I unfortunately didn’t do a great job at celebrating (didn’t wear red or new clothes, and had pizza for dinner), but I did find myself walking through Chinatown after work on my way to meet Josh and Shawn for dinner.

2018-02-16_17-13-43_380-1
Chinatown all decked out for the New Year.

On my way I ran into some interesting sights that I felt inclined to share. Somehow they both capture the essence of Chinatown.

2018-02-16_17-13-11_949.jpeg

What’s Chinatown without some lost in translation signs.
waldo

Took a sneaky picture of the crowds of old men watching each other play checkers in a park.

I even saw a dragon dance being recorded by the local news on the streets!

Shawn, Josh and I met up at Josh’s place and watched Chris Rock’s new stand-up special “Tambourine” while we waited for Josh’s friend to get in from the airport for dinner. We were all huge fans of this special and I highly recommend this Netflix watch!

Once Josh’s friend Stephen got in we went for a quick slice of pizza at our favorite North Beach pizza locale, Tony’s Coal-Fired Pizza and Slice House. As usual, it was bustling with crowds of people fueling up for their Friday nights.

After pizza, we all stopped by Baked Bear for ice cream cookie sandwiches. Josh’s biggest fan and longtime employee Emma was behind the counter, and it was fun to see how excited she was to see Josh. As Shawn observed, he really does seem to have become acquainted with numerous locals here in San Francisco.

2018-02-16_20-51-56_805.jpeg
White chocolate macadamia and strawberry cheesecake cookie with the Bear Batter (cake batter with brownie mixed in) ice cream.

Afterwards, our exciting Friday night plans ended continued at Josh’s place, drinking cider and beer and watching Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping. As a product of The Longely Island SNL generation, this is probably one of my favorite movies of all time.


Saturday

I woke up Saturday feeling ready for a big day of activity. Shawn stayed over at my place the night before, so we headed out to find a snack before we met up with my roommate Morgan and her friends for brunch.

2018-02-17_12-27-46_536
We also played with Morgan’s dog friend Marvin a little bit Saturday morning.

We walked down the 24th Street Corridor and found ourselves at a Mexican bakery. We got oursevles quite a wide variety of sweets – perhaps too many pastries for 10 AM in the morning. My teeth were practically aching after eating so many sugary treats and I ended up having to save some of mine for later.

2018-02-17_10-37-14_106
Shawn with our breakfast selection from La Victoria Bakery.

We did a lot of meandering around the Mission and then finally found oursevles at Dolores Park Cafe for brunch with Morgan. I didn’t actually get anything to eat, but instead enjoyed the view of Dolores Park and basked in the sunshine during the meal.

2018-02-17_13-02-35_733
View from Dolores Park Cafe.

Shawn randomly ran into his high school friends while we were eating, so after the meal Morgan and I went back while he stayed and hung out with them. Josh, his roommate, and visiting friend met up at our apartment so they could watch a college basketball game (Villanova vs. Xavier if I remember correctly?) while I waited for my own canine companion for the weekend.

IMG_20180217_154626_Bokeh
Waldo the Great Dane.

Waldo, the 125 pound Great Dane, was dropped off by his owners around 4 on Saturday. He was a huge addition, size and personality-wise, to our apartment. Almost immediately upon arriving we brought him on our favorite dog activity – hiking up Bernal Hill!

IMG_20180217_165208_Bokeh-1
We stage a bit of a photoshoot at the top of the hike.
IMG_20180217_172814_Bokeh-1
For once I was not the one who closed their eyes during a picture!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was a particularly wonderful weekend weather-wise here in San Francisco, so there were a ton of dogs out and about on top of Bernal Hill.

received_10156334686576929
These two labs sitting under Josh were hilarious – they would just come up and sit themselves directly within reach in order to receive as many pets as possible.
received_10156334686246929
Many Lion King jokes were made.
IMG_20180217_173350_Bokeh-1
Another one of my minor resolutions is for Josh and I to get more pictures together.

We played around with a football, staged a photoshoot, and  enjoyed the view of the city for a while before the sun started to set.

2018-02-17_17-47-52_310-1
View of the Mission at sunset.
2018-02-17_17-44-51_462-1
Our group walking back down the hill.

The rest of my Saturday way pretty low-key and spent just staring at how wonderfully magnificent Waldo was.

IMG_20180217_192416

 


Sunday

I woke up pretty late on Sunday and enjoyed a nice lie-in. Then a last minute Rover request came in, and my day instantly got incredibly exciting.

2018-02-18_12-48-02_946-1
Murray the conehead.

Waldo and our new friend Murray got along quite well together – in fact they didn’t really seem to care that much about each other’s presences.

IMG_20180218_132842

IMG_20180218_133157
Standing at attention.

Josh came over in the afternoon and picked up a piece of furniture that I had been eyeing on the street for a couple days. I know this sounds weird and gross, but there are some really great finds all over the streets of this city! I grabbed this and gave it an incredibly thorough vaccumming and scrub-down.

2018-02-18_10-15-39_643-1

Now it’s sitting nicely in my room, perfect for reading or catching up on the Olympics.

After that exciting acquisition we took the guys to Precita Park to get some fresh air and exercise. They had a lot of fun meeting new friends and just romping around.

IMG_20180218_140509-1

IMG_20180218_142338
Murray had serious separation anxiety – so much so that he never was more than 4 feet away from me the entire time we were at the park!

After we got back I embarked on my great quest to create a pizza! I recently acquired yeast (strangely this was a long and arduous journey) and have been looking for any occassion to use it to make something delicious.

Josh and I made two pizzas with spinach, mozarella, peppers, pepperoni, and onions. They were enough not only for our dinner Sunday night, but also lunch Monday afternoon!

IMG_20180218_185247-1

IMG_20180218_185646-1
Waldo eyeing the pizza and pear cider.

Monday

It was yet another slow start to the day, but isn’t that the point of a 3-day weekend after all?

We had a nice lunch of leftover pizza (honestly is anything better?) and then took Wally out for one last romp before his owners came to pick him up. There weren’t many people out today, so unfortunately he didn’t have any friends to play with.

2018-02-19_13-14-28_445-1
The view of Precita Park.
2018-02-19_13-14-51_798-1
Josh and Waldo looking for some friends to play with.

On our way back, we struck gold again! Josh noticed this pristine Ikea desk sitting at almost the exact same spot as the chair from the day before. He literally threw it over his shoulders and singlehandedly carried it two blocks back to my place.

2018-02-21_16-20-35_863
Now it’s comfortable serving as a pseudo coffe table and puzzle top.

Waldo’s owners ended up being a bit late in picking him up, so we stayed at my place and binged on some Fawlty Towers while I worked on my puzzle, Josh played 2K, and Waldo lounged at our feet. Honestly, it was an ideal lazy Sunday afternoon that was about as relaxing as it gets.

After we lost Waldo back to his owners, Josh and I went back to his place for our ritualistic weekly meal prep. This week we decided to go easy and just do sandwiches with roasted asparagus as a side, seeing as how it’s a short week. While meal prepping, we watched Creed with Josh’s roommate. I’ve never watched a Rocky movie before and didn’t think that it would really be up my alley, but honestly I was throroughly impressed and loved every part of the movie.

Anyways, now it’s Thursday and I’m already looking forward to the next weekend. I hope that you all are having a great week!

Leave a comment